NDC’s Alban Bagbin Sworn In As 8th Speaker Of Parliament

NDC’s Alban Bagbin Sworn In As 8th Speaker Of Parliament after all the drama caused from about 9pm when the NDC MPs stormed Parliament House.

The former Member of parliament for the Nadowli-Kaleo constituency on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin has been named as the speaker of parliament.

Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin was the Second deputy speaker of the 7th Parliament of the fourth republic. He was voted for in the fill the speakership position by the yet to be sworn in members of the eighth parliaments.

He was the Minister for Health in the Ghana government until February 2013 when Hanny-Sherry Ayittey took over the position. Alban Bagbin was sworn in as Speaker by the Chief Justice, Justice Ennin Yeboah

The NDC MPs decided to sit at the right-hand side of the Speaker of Parliament signifying that they form a majority in Parliament.

This incurred the wrath of the NPP MPs which resulted in a heated argument on the floor of the house.

Apart from the nasty incidences experienced at the house, it has been reported that an NPP MP, Carlos Ahenkorah decided to snatch the ballot box used for the election of the Speaker of Parliament.

He was chased by the NDC MPs and some security men and eventually overpowered.

This spectacle caused some uproar and confusion in the Parliament House and subsequently saw the NDC MPs jubilating because of their belief that Hon. Alban Bagbin had won the elections and needed to be sworn in as Speaker of Parliament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here